Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
2

The band America needed

2

This might be a first for me… a music story I didn’t know about a band I know really well. This band was huge for me as a kid. I saw them three times in the mid 90s, including at the concert that I talk about in the intro to this video. I assumed that they were as big everywhere in the world as they were to me and my friends in Southern California. And I assumed that for the next 30 years.

I had no idea until I started doing research for this month’s theme that this was a band that wasn’t famous in their home country. Their debut album is a cornerstone of 90s music to me. Everybody I knew had that album. It had 5 hit singles! Songs I can still sing every word of to this day. I was shocked to find out that not everybody feels that way.

Some of their story I had a rough idea about, but researching this was pretty mind blowing to me. I’ve still got a lot of unanswered questions about it! I get comments sometimes on videos where people tell me that I’m wrong because that’s not how they remember something. This one was a good reminder that even when it comes to music history you lived through, you might not know the whole story!

Discussion about this podcast

Patrick Hicks Music Stories
Patrick Hicks Music Stories Podcast
Storyteller, historian, and music celebrator Patrick Hicks is bringing music history to life in podcast form. The best stories in music from every genre; fascinating, heartfelt, and inspirational tales about your most beloved artists and songs.